Proponents of Prop. 54

The proponents of Prop. 54 have a history of successfully advocating for government reform and transparency.

Sam Blakeslee represented the Central Coast for eight years in the State Legislature, first in the Assembly and later in the State Senate. Sam served as Minority Leader during his time in the Assembly, directly negotiating major policy initiatives with Governor Schwarzenegger and Democratic leadership. Following his time in the Legislature, Sam founded the Institute of Advanced Technology and Public Policy at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, which focuses on integrating emerging technology with public policy. The Institute notably developed Digital Democracy, an online platform connecting the public with videos and transcripts for legislative hearings. Sam is also a successful business owner, managing his own investment and financial planning firm Blakeslee & Blakeslee.

Charles Munger, Jr. is an experimental physicist that crossed into the realm of government reform as the driving force behind several key statewide initiatives. Charles advocated for the passage of Proposition 14 in 2010, which gave California its current “top-two” primary system, and played an integral role in critical redistricting reform efforts. Charles was the lead supporter of Proposition 11, which successfully passed in 2008. Prop. 11 put an end to state legislators drawing their own districts by entrusting a new, independent Citizens Redistricting Commission to draw legislative districts in an open, transparent process. Charles was also the co-author and proponent for Proposition 20, passed by voters in 2010, ensuring the Citizens Redistricting Commission would also draw California’s 53 Congressional districts.

Last year, Charles and Sam testified on behalf of Proposition 54 (the California Legislature Transparency Act) in response to SCA 14/AB 884, legislative proposals introduced at the 11th hour in an attempt to weaken Prop. 54.

See their video testimonies below (Trouble playing videos? Click here):

Joint Informational Hearing – Assembly Rules Committee and Senate Elections and Constitutional Amendments Committee

Senate Standing Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments

Senate Appropriations Committee

Assembly Rules Committee

Assembly Appropriations Committee